E-mail storyPrint friendly format
Homepage > City Departments > City Secretary

City Secretary
Patrice Fogarty, TRMC, MMC

Patrice Fogarty joined the City of La Porte as City Secretary in February 2011.  She previously served in that capacity for the cities of Missouri City, Beaumont, and Dickinson.

Patrice earned her Texas Registered Municipal Clerks Certification from the University of North Texas.  Patrice was the 2006 President of Texas Municipal Clerks Association, Inc., after having held other board positions. She served as a member of the TMCCP Certification Committee in 1999 and 2000 and as chair in 2001 and 2002.  Patrice served as a co-author of the sixth, seventh, eighth and ninth editions of the Texas Municipal Clerks Handbook.  She was the 2008 chair of the Administrative Management Committee. Since 2000, Patrice has served as chair of the TMCA, Inc., Technology Committee, which hosts the TMCA Yahoo! email list serve.  She was appointed to the Texas House Elections Committee as a member of a legislative working group on HAVA Implementation in 2006.  She currently serves the TML on an Ad Hoc Elections Committee designed to monitor election bills through the Legislative Session.

Patrice has certified as a Master Municipal Clerk through the International Institute of Municipal Clerks. 

In 2003, Patrice was honored as the Texas Municipal Clerks Association, Inc.’s, Texas Municipal Clerk of the Year.  The Salt Grass Chapter of the Texas Municipal Clerks Association, Inc., honored Patrice as Clerk of the Year in 2005.  As a past member and officer of the Golden Triangle Chapter in Beaumont, Patrice was honored to receive their 1997 Municipal Clerk of the Year Award.

When not working and volunteering, Patrice enjoys her family, playing golf, RVing, and reading.